Skip to content

Gem of Brightness

D&D 5e · 2024·Wondrous items·Uncommon·No attunement

Type
Wondrous items
Weight
Not specified
Attunement
Not required
Rarity
Uncommon
Price
Not specified

Magic: Magic action while holding, using one of three command words.

What Gem of Brightness does

This prism has 50 charges. While you are holding it, you can take a Magic action and use one of three command words to cause one of the following effects: First Command Word. The gem sheds Bright Light in a 30-foot radius and Dim Light for an additional 30 feet. This effect doesn't expend a charge. It lasts until you take a Bonus Action to repeat the command word or until you use another function of the gem. Second Command Word. You expend 1 charge and cause the gem to fire a brilliant beam of light at one creature you can see within 60 feet of yourself. The creature must succeed on a DC 15 Constitution saving throw or have the Blinded condition for 1 minute. The creature repeats the save at the end of each of its turns, ending the effect on itself on a success. Third Command Word. You expend 5 charges and cause the gem to flare with intense light in a 30- foot Cone. Each creature in the Cone makes a saving throw as if struck by the beam created with the second command word. When all of the gem's charges are expended, the gem becomes a nonmagical jewel worth 50 GP.

Full item details & properties

Magic properties

Activation
Magic action while holding, using one of three command words.
Consumable
No
Three commands
Light 30+30 ft. costs 0; beam at visible creature within 60 ft. costs 1; 30-foot Cone costs 5. Beam/Cone: Constitution DC 15 or Blinded 1 minute, repeat save end of each turn.
Finite resource
50 charges, no recharge specified. At zero, becomes a nonmagical jewel worth 50 GP; that is not the magic item's sale price.

Tags & related references

Uncommon →BlindingFinite ChargesLight SourceMagicalNo AttunementWondrous Item →

Gem of Brightness FAQ

Does Gem of Brightness require attunement?

No. This entry does not require attunement; follow its activation and use rules.

Is the listed price a guaranteed purchase price?

The source does not specify a price for this entry. Ask your GM about availability and cost.

Rules source: System Reference Document 5.2.1 ↗

This work includes material from the System Reference Document 5.2.1 ("SRD 5.2.1") by Wizards of the Coast LLC, available at https://www.dndbeyond.com/srd. The SRD 5.2.1 is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License, available at https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/legalcode. Equipment tables transcribed and visually checked by JustRoll; prices converted to GP; mechanics and tags structured for the catalogue; item summaries paraphrased by JustRoll. The original Open5e import snapshots are retained unchanged.

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0