Skip to content

Manual of Golems

D&D 5e · 2024·Wondrous items·Very Rare·No attunement

Type
Wondrous items
Weight
Not specified
Attunement
Not required
Rarity
Very Rare
Price
Not specified

Magic: Read and work with uninterrupted manual in hand; requires at least two level-5 spell slots.

What Manual of Golems does

This tome contains information and incantations necessary to make a particular type of golem. The GM chooses the type or determines it randomly by rolling on the accompanying table. To decipher and use the manual, you must be a spellcaster with at least two level 5 spell slots. A creature that can't use a Manual of Golems and attempts to read it takes 6d6 Psychic damage. To create a golem, you must spend the time shown on the table, working without interruption with the manual at hand and resting no more than 8 hours per day. You must also pay the specified cost to purchase supplies. Once you finish creating the golem, the book is consumed in eldritch flames. The golem becomes animate when the ashes of the manual are sprinkled on it. See "Monsters" for the golem's stat block. The golem is under your control, and it understands and obeys your commands. 1d20 Golem Time Cost 1–5 Clay Golem 30 days 65,000 GP 6–17 Flesh Golem 60 days 50,000 GP 18 Iron Golem 120 days 100,000 GP 19–20 Stone Golem 90 days 80,000 GP

Full item details & properties

Magic properties

Activation
Read and work with uninterrupted manual in hand; requires at least two level-5 spell slots.
Consumable
No
Construction prerequisite
At least two level-5 spell slots; an ineligible reader takes 6d6 Psychic.
Manual type
Clay 30 days/65,000 GP; Flesh 60/50,000; Iron 120/100,000; Stone 90/80,000. Costs are supplies, not manual price. Manual is consumed.

Tags & related references

Very Rare →Consumed On CompletionGolem ConstructionMagicalNo AttunementWondrous Item →

Manual of Golems FAQ

Does Manual of Golems require attunement?

No. This entry does not require attunement; follow its activation and use rules.

Is the listed price a guaranteed purchase price?

The source does not specify a price for this entry. Ask your GM about availability and cost.

Rules source: System Reference Document 5.2.1 ↗

This work includes material from the System Reference Document 5.2.1 ("SRD 5.2.1") by Wizards of the Coast LLC, available at https://www.dndbeyond.com/srd. The SRD 5.2.1 is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License, available at https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/legalcode. Equipment tables transcribed and visually checked by JustRoll; prices converted to GP; mechanics and tags structured for the catalogue; item summaries paraphrased by JustRoll. The original Open5e import snapshots are retained unchanged.

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0