Skip to content
Back

Ring of Spell Storing

D&D 5e · 2024·Rings·Rare·Requires attunement

Type
Rings
Weight
Not specified
Attunement
Required
Rarity
Rare
Price
Not specified

Magic: Touch ring while casting into it; attuned wearer casts stored spells.

What Ring of Spell Storing does

  • This item uses one of your attunement slots. Compare its benefit with the other items you want to keep attuned.
This ring stores spells cast into it, holding them until the attuned wearer uses them. The ring can store up to 5 levels worth of spells at a time. When found, it contains 1d6 − 1 levels of stored spells chosen by the GM. Any creature can cast a spell of level 1 through 5 into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast. The spell has no effect other than to be stored in the ring. If the ring can't hold the spell, the spell is expended without effect. The level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses. While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell. The spell cast from the ring is no longer stored in it, freeing up space.
Full item details & properties

Magic properties

Activation
Touch ring while casting into it; attuned wearer casts stored spells.
Consumable
No
Storage capacity
Up to 5 total spell levels; found with 1d6 − 1 levels of GM-chosen spells. Spells of levels 1–5 may be stored; slot level determines capacity used. An overflow cast is wasted.
Stored casting
Attuned wearer uses original caster's slot level, DC, spell attack bonus and spellcasting ability; otherwise wearer casts it. Casting removes that spell and frees capacity.

Tags & related references

Rare →MagicalRequires AttunementSpell StorageRing →

Ring of Spell Storing FAQ

Does Ring of Spell Storing require attunement?

Yes. You need to attune to this item to use the properties that require attunement.

Is the listed price a guaranteed purchase price?

The source does not specify a price for this entry. Ask your GM about availability and cost.

Rules source: System Reference Document 5.2.1 ↗

This work includes material from the System Reference Document 5.2.1 ("SRD 5.2.1") by Wizards of the Coast LLC, available at https://www.dndbeyond.com/srd. The SRD 5.2.1 is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License, available at https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/legalcode. Equipment tables transcribed and visually checked by JustRoll; prices converted to GP; mechanics and tags structured for the catalogue; item summaries paraphrased by JustRoll. The original Open5e import snapshots are retained unchanged.

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0