Skip to content

Rope of Climbing

D&D 5e · 2024·Wondrous items·Uncommon·No attunement

Type
Wondrous items
Weight
Not specified
Attunement
Not required
Rarity
Uncommon
Price
Not specified

Magic: Magic action while holding one end to command.

What Rope of Climbing does

This 60-foot length of rope can hold up to 3,000 pounds. While holding one end of the rope, you can take a Magic action to command the other end of the rope to animate and move toward a destination you choose, up to the rope's length away from you. That end moves 10 feet on your turn when you first command it and 10 feet at the start of each of your subsequent turns until reaching its destination or until you tell it to stop. You can also tell the rope to fasten itself securely to an object or to unfasten itself, to knot or unknot itself, or to coil itself for carrying. If you tell the rope to knot, large knots appear at 1-foot intervals along the rope. While knotted, the rope shortens to a 50-foot length and grants Advantage on ability checks made to climb using the rope. The rope has AC 20, HP 20, and Immunity to Poison and Psychic damage. It regains 1 Hit Point every 5 minutes as long as it has at least 1 Hit Point. If the rope drops to 0 Hit Points, it is destroyed.

Full item details & properties

Magic properties

Activation
Magic action while holding one end to command.
Consumable
No
Rope dimensions & load
60 ft.; holds 3,000 lb. Commanded end moves 10 ft. initially and at the start of subsequent turns, up to the rope's length.
Knots
Knots at 1-foot intervals shorten it to 50 ft. and give Advantage on ability checks to climb with it.
Rope defenses
AC 20, HP 20, Poison/Psychic Immunity; regains 1 HP every 5 minutes while at 1+ HP. Destroyed at 0 HP. These defenses belong to the rope.

Tags & related references

Uncommon →Animated RopeClimbingMagicalNo AttunementWondrous Item →

Rope of Climbing FAQ

Does Rope of Climbing require attunement?

No. This entry does not require attunement; follow its activation and use rules.

Is the listed price a guaranteed purchase price?

The source does not specify a price for this entry. Ask your GM about availability and cost.

Rules source: System Reference Document 5.2.1 ↗

This work includes material from the System Reference Document 5.2.1 ("SRD 5.2.1") by Wizards of the Coast LLC, available at https://www.dndbeyond.com/srd. The SRD 5.2.1 is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License, available at https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/legalcode. Equipment tables transcribed and visually checked by JustRoll; prices converted to GP; mechanics and tags structured for the catalogue; item summaries paraphrased by JustRoll. The original Open5e import snapshots are retained unchanged.

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0