Skip to content
Back

Frost Brand (Rapier)

D&D 5e · 2024·Weapons·Very Rare·Requires attunement

Weapon damage
1d8 piercing + 1d6 cold

Base weapon damage before your ability modifier. Use the calculator to include hit chance and critical hits.

Damage calculator

Hit chance

55%

Expected damage / attack

6.45

Attack bonus

+5

Average normal hit: 11 · Average critical hit: 19 · Critical chance: 5%.

Category
Martial weapon
Damage type
Piercing
Reach
5 ft.
Magic attack bonus
+0
Weight
2 lb
Attunement
Required
Rarity
Very Rare
Price
Not specified

Magic: Displayed damage is before applicable ability modifiers. Conditional extra damage applies only when its trigger and target requirements are met.

Calculator assumptions & rules

One attack against a creature. Natural 1 misses; natural 20 hits and doubles damage dice, not flat modifiers. Expected damage includes misses and critical hits. Advantage uses the higher of two d20s; Disadvantage uses the lower. Magic bonuses shown on the item are counted once.

Uses only the weapon’s ordinary hit and the listed on-hit extra dice, when enabled. Class features, Sneak Attack, fighting styles, mastery effects, damage on a miss, special critical-hit effects, ongoing damage, resistance and immunity are excluded. Check the full rules below for additional effects.

Changing calculator inputs does not change the item’s rules or create a new page URL.

What Frost Brand does

  • Strength or Dexterity can drive this martial weapon’s attack and damage rolls. Add your proficiency bonus to the attack roll only if you are proficient.
  • The base 1d8 weapon damage averages 4.5 before your ability modifier and extra effects. Hit chance matters too: compare expected damage per attack rather than the die alone.
  • This item uses one of your attunement slots. Compare its benefit with the other items you want to keep attuned.
When you hit with an attack roll using this magic weapon, the target takes an extra 1d6 Cold damage. In addition, while you hold the weapon, you have Resistance to Fire damage. In freezing temperatures, the weapon sheds Bright Light in a 10-foot radius and Dim Light for an additional 10 feet. When you draw this weapon, you can extinguish all nonmagical flames within 30 feet of yourself. Once used, this property can't be used again for 1 hour. This is the Rapier variant.
Full item details & properties

Magic properties

Activation
Hit with an attack roll; hold for Fire Resistance; draw to extinguish flames.
Consumable
No
Damage resistance
Fire
Conditions & limits
Displayed damage is before applicable ability modifiers. Conditional extra damage applies only when its trigger and target requirements are met.
Fire Resistance condition
Only while holding the weapon.
Freezing-temperature light
Bright Light 10 ft. and additional Dim Light 10 ft., only in freezing temperatures.
Extinguish flames
When drawn, may extinguish all nonmagical flames within 30 ft.; once per hour.

Weapon details

Damage
1d8 piercing
Weapon class
Martial Melee
Damage on a hit
1d8 piercing + 1d6 cold

Properties

Finesse

When making an attack with a Finesse weapon, use your choice of your Strength or Dexterity modifier for the attack and damage rolls. You must use the same modifier for both rolls.

Weapon mastery

Vex

If you hit a creature with this weapon and deal damage to the creature, you have Advantage on your next attack roll against that creature before the end of your next turn.

You need a feature, such as Weapon Mastery, that unlocks this property for you.

Tags & related references

PiercingVexVery Rare →Extinguish FlamesExtra Cold DamageFire ResistanceFrostMagicalMartial WeaponMelee WeaponRequires AttunementFinesse →Weapon →

Compare alternatives

Same edition, using your calculator inputs above. Special properties and character features can change the choice.

Ordinary attacks only. Matching extra-damage conditions follow your input; alternatives keep their default bonus allocation.

Frost Brand FAQ

Does Frost Brand require attunement?

Yes. You need to attune to this item to use the properties that require attunement.

Is the listed price a guaranteed purchase price?

The source does not specify a price for this entry. Ask your GM about availability and cost.

Rules source: System Reference Document 5.2.1 ↗

This work includes material from the System Reference Document 5.2.1 ("SRD 5.2.1") by Wizards of the Coast LLC, available at https://www.dndbeyond.com/srd. The SRD 5.2.1 is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License, available at https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/legalcode. Equipment tables transcribed and visually checked by JustRoll; prices converted to GP; mechanics and tags structured for the catalogue; item summaries paraphrased by JustRoll. The original Open5e import snapshots are retained unchanged.

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0