Skip to content
Back

Nine Lives Stealer (Shortsword)

D&D 5e · 2014·Weapons·Very Rare·Requires attunement

Weapon damage
1d6 +2 piercing

Base weapon damage before your ability modifier. Use the calculator to include hit chance and critical hits.

Damage calculator

Hit chance

65%

Expected damage / attack

5.7

Attack bonus

+7

Average normal hit: 8.5 · Average critical hit: 12 · Critical chance: 5%.

Category
Martial weapon
Damage type
Piercing
Reach
5 ft.
Magic attack bonus
+2
Weight
2 lb
Attunement
Required
Rarity
Very Rare
Price
Not specified

Magic: Attack with this weapon.

Calculator assumptions & rules

One attack against a creature. Natural 1 misses; natural 20 hits and doubles damage dice, not flat modifiers. Expected damage includes misses and critical hits. Advantage uses the higher of two d20s; Disadvantage uses the lower. Magic bonuses shown on the item are counted once.

Uses only the weapon’s ordinary hit and the listed on-hit extra dice, when enabled. Class features, Sneak Attack, fighting styles, mastery effects, damage on a miss, special critical-hit effects, ongoing damage, resistance and immunity are excluded. Check the full rules below for additional effects.

Changing calculator inputs does not change the item’s rules or create a new page URL.

What Nine Lives Stealer does

  • Strength or Dexterity can drive this martial weapon’s attack and damage rolls. Add your proficiency bonus to the attack roll only if you are proficient.
  • The base 1d6 +2 weapon damage averages 5.5 before your ability modifier and extra effects. Hit chance matters too: compare expected damage per attack rather than the die alone.
  • This item uses one of your attunement slots. Compare its benefit with the other items you want to keep attuned.
You gain a +2 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with this magic weapon. The sword has 1d8 + 1 charges. If you score a critical hit against a creature that has fewer than 100 hit points, it must succeed on a DC 15 Constitution saving throw or be slain instantly as the sword tears its life force from its body (a construct or an undead is immune). The sword loses 1 charge if the creature is slain. When the sword has no charges remaining, it loses this property. This is the Shortsword variant.
Full item details & properties

Rules for this edition

Proficiency
A martial melee weapon; proficiency allows adding your Proficiency Bonus to its attack rolls.

Magic properties

Activation
Attack with this weapon.
Consumable
No
Attack Rolls
+2. With this weapon; use any target-specific or allocation rule below.
Damage Rolls
+2. Included once in the displayed weapon damage; add the applicable ability modifier separately.
Initial charges
1d8 + 1 (2–9); roll for this instance.
Charge expenditure
1 only when the creature is slain by soul theft.
Charge recovery
No recharge specified
At zero charges
Loses soul-theft property; retains the +2 attack and damage bonus.
Soul theft
A critical hit against a creature with fewer than 100 HP triggers Constitution DC 15 or instant death. Constructs and Undead are immune. Spend one charge only if slain.

Weapon details

Damage
1d6 + 2 piercing
Weapon class
Martial Melee

Properties

Finesse

When making an attack with a finesse weapon, you use your choice of your Strength or Dexterity modifier for the attack and damage rolls. You must use the same modifier for both rolls.

Light

A light weapon is small and easy to handle, making it ideal for use when fighting with two weapons.

Tags & related references

PiercingVery Rare →Attack Roll BonusCritical Hit Soul TheftDamage BonusFinite ChargesMagicalMartial WeaponMelee WeaponRequires AttunementFinesse →Light →Weapon →

Compare alternatives

Same edition, using your calculator inputs above. Special properties and character features can change the choice.

Ordinary attacks only. Matching extra-damage conditions follow your input; alternatives keep their default bonus allocation.

Nine Lives Stealer FAQ

Does Nine Lives Stealer require attunement?

Yes. You need to attune to this item to use the properties that require attunement.

Is the listed price a guaranteed purchase price?

The source does not specify a price for this entry. Ask your GM about availability and cost.

Rules source: System Reference Document 5.1 ↗

This work includes material taken from the System Reference Document 5.1 ("SRD 5.1") by Wizards of the Coast LLC and available at https://dnd.wizards.com/resources/systems-reference-document. The SRD 5.1 is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License available at https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/legalcode. JustRoll independently checked 2014 item text, tables, properties, prices and weights against official SRD 5.1; converted currency to GP and structured mechanics and edition-specific tags. Identity links to 2024 do not transfer rules. Original API snapshots remain unchanged.

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0